To own a gun store, you must apply for a state-level firearms license first. New York requires that you apply for a Pistol/Revolver License Application through your local law enforcement. This process takes approximately four months to complete. Listed below are the steps you need to take to get your firearms license in New York. You should be able to find your nearest law enforcement office at least six months before the deadline.
First, decide which type of license you wish to obtain. You can apply for a concealed weapon license if you are an adult, but a non-smoker must have an unregistered handgun license. Alternatively, you can apply for a non-firearms license if you are a minor. In either case, you must be at least 18 years old. It takes about four months to obtain a concealed weapon license in New York.
To obtain a handgun license, you must submit all of the required paperwork and pass a background check. For rifles and shotguns, this is easy enough, but for handguns, you need to fill out more paperwork. Make sure your government-issued ID is valid. Fingerprinting usually costs about $60. Remember to bring your government-issued photo ID with you. In addition, you should also bring some extra money for each handgun permit you wish to obtain.
You must also meet eligibility requirements. To acquire a handgun license, you must be at least 21 years of age, have a good moral character and be in good physical condition. Several factors will be taken into consideration during a background check. They consider your past history of summonses and arrests, and whether you have any orders of protection or domestic violence. If you have any mental illness or are taking medications, the background check will be based on these factors.
Once you have filled out your application, it will be reviewed by the ISP. You will receive a letter stating whether or not your application was approved or denied. If you were rejected, you will receive instructions for appealing your denial. If you are denied, you must visit your local firearms license office and complete the process again. If you fail to make it to the licensing office, you will be sent a notice of rejection by U.S. mail that tells you how to appeal the decision.
You must be over 21 years old and a legal resident of California. You should also be free of any criminal convictions. In addition to this, you must not be a frequent user of alcohol or drugs. You also must not have been committed a crime involving violence in the past. In order to get a gun license in California, you must also complete mandatory firearm training courses. If you are a felon, you must apply with your local law enforcement.
In New Zealand, you must also be able to provide a copy of a criminal record check from a foreign country. The criminal record check must have been done within ten years. In addition to the application form, you will need to submit the relevant documents. For most people, a firearms license is valid for 12 months. You can also get a European Firearms Pass, which is required if you want to travel to another country with a gun.